County History

Lewis County, Missouri was first organized as a separate county on January 2, 1833 from Marion County. The county was named after Meriwether Lewis of the Lewis and Clark Expedition, later governor of the Missouri Territory. The third and present courthouse dates from 1875. Lewis County is one of the few remaining courthouses in Missouri dating from the 1870's. The towns are Canton, Durham, Ewing, La Belle, La Grange, Lewistown, Maywood, Monticello (county seat), Steffenville and Williamstown.

My name is Crystal Campbell Dingler. Please contact me with any suggestions you have for the site or any information you would like to contribute. Please also let me know if you find any broken links or errors. Thanks.
A proud member of the MOGenWeb Project.
Welcome to
Lewis County, MO
Adjoining Counties
County Message Boards
Searching Names:
Spelling was casual in early records. Please search all possible variations (i.e., McNichel, McNichle, McNickel, McNickle, Nichol, Nickle, Nichle, etc.)
Around the County
Lewis County Mailing List


Email me with your brick walls.

Lewis County is proud to be a participant of the MOGenWeb. If anyone is interested in becoming a county coordinator or otherwise working on the MOGenWeb, please contact Larry Flesher State Coordinator (SC) and
Assistant Coordinator: Denise Woodside (ASC)

All rights reserved. This information may be used by libraries, genealogical societies and researchers for their personal use; however, commercial use of this information is strictly prohibited without prior permission of the owners of this material. When copied for non-commercial and personal use, this copyright notice should appear with the information and a reference made to the contributor and where the information was obtained.

Copyright Notice 2018: This is a free website and shall remain free.  All files, original documents, photo's etc. remain the property of the submitter and will not be sold.  Nor can they be reproduced in any format or on any other website without written consent from their owner. 

Crystal Dingler - County Coordinator

Angela DiBlasi - Former County Coordinator

US and MO GenWeb Project Links
USGenWeb Archives Pension Project
MOGenWeb Special Collections
USGenWeb Family
Group Sheets Project

USGenWeb Census Project
MOGenWeb Archives Project
MO Footsteps
MOGenWeb KIDZ Project
MOGenWeb Biographies Project
MOGenWeb Tombstone Project
MOGenWeb Vital Records Project
Last updated  05/20/18
Site Coordinator 05/08/18

What's New?
  Photos and bios of Rev. James M. Lillard
  Bro. W. C. Brown, Rev. William Francis Smith, and Rev. O.N. Collins  05/06/18

  Land Patents for June 1850, James M. Lillard and Simeon Waggener 05/06/18

  Adams Cemetery

  FGS  and Notes on Archibald Cheatham and Simeon Green Waggener. 05/12/18

  Bond Book A  (1833-1849)  05/20/18
From the Lee, Richard L. County Courthouse Photographs, Digital Collection, MO State Historical Society.
Wyaconda Baptist Church Association Minutes

1870   1875    1880    1885
1890   1895    1900    1905
1910     1914
search engine by freefind advanced